Photo

vegetables and fruits in season

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Sushmita

Sushmita
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 August 2010 - 01:47 PM

I am a resident of Bangalore. Could I have access to a chart which gives me the names of vegetables and fruits that are in season during the various months? And, are there any vegetables or fruits to be avoided during any season because they are not grown locally and have to be brought from either other parts of India or imported into India?

#2 Suresh Hinduja

Suresh Hinduja

Suresh Hinduja

• Super Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,230 posts
  • Interests:food innovation
    golf
    single malt
    author
    consulting chef

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:01 AM

Hello Sushmita and welcome to our forums.
As far as I know modern cultivation methods have ensured a year round supply of most vegetables and fruits.
Exceptions being mangoes, litchis, oranges...

Avoid buying imported fruits. I believe there is a concept called food miles- advocating the consumption of agri produce within proximity, thereby saving on transport and carbon emissions.

I fry by the heat of my pans
http://www.gourmetindia.com

My Photos

chicken 2014
Album: My Pixels
471 images
79 comments

#3 jyotirmoy

jyotirmoy

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 586 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 02:33 PM

Yes Suresh bhai is right. These days we get vegetables like Cauliflower, Cabbage, Carrots etc. through out the year where as these once used to be winter vegetables.
That article on Food miles is very much enlightning.

#4 agne

agne
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:37 PM

when there is a choice you can choose. but the markets are flooded with australian apples, american corn. it is very hard to find Indian apples or corn to name a few

#5 anil

anil

Guru Member

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,062 posts

Posted 16 August 2010 - 03:55 AM